A schematic Map of Russia and the Russian Federation giving an overview of the location, names and relative sizes and shapes of all Russian Federal Territories. Territories are color coded in order to signify nature. Among the territories are Russia; and 46 Oblasts, 21 Republics and 8 Krai's, and additionally 2 Federal Cities (Moscow and St. Petersburg), 1 Autonomous Oblasts and 4 Autonomous Okrug.
Not included in this map are territories recently invaded by Russian Forces in northern Georgia (2008 ; Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region (South Ossetia)) and in Ukraine (February 2014-ongoing), in the latter case primarily The Crimea, which has since 18 March, 2014 been (re-) annexed by Russia Proper.

Browse the Map and link through for more information by location where available >>>
The Russia (Fd.) Report
Introduction to Political Map Russia and Russian Federation - Federal Subjects (Territories) at
To Main Menu of All Websites at DrBen.Net
Go to webring
Russia Fd. Maps
Russia Online Sources
Russia Offline Sources
Russia Online Store
Asia Photo Galleries
Satellite Maps
Art & Culture
History Home
Russia Federation Home
Russia (Fd.)
Asia Countries /Home
Asia Report Club
Provinces Maps
Russia Fd. Politics
Russia Fd. News
City + Site Maps
Historic Maps
This page was last updated on: August 19, 2017
This page was last updated on: August 19, 2017
Moscow (Mосква), the National Capital has a superior status as Federal City, which finds itself surrounded by the Moscow Oblast (Московская область). the second Federal City is Saint Petersburg (Санкт-Петербург), which is also Russia's second most important city.

The 21 Republics that are part of the Russian Federation are:
Altai (Kazakh (Russian: Республика Алтай ; Altai: Алтай Республика), Adygya (Russian: Республика Адыгея ; Adyghe: Адыгэ Республик), Bashkortostan (Russian: Республика Башкортостан ; Bashkir: Башҡортостан Республикаһы), Buryatia (Mongol)(Russian: Республика Бурятия ; Buryat Mongol: Буряад Улас), Chechnya (Нохчийн Республика), Chuvashia (Russian: Чувашская Республика — Чувашия , Chuvash: Чăваш Республики — Чăваш Ен), Dagestan (Russian: Республика Дагестан), Ingushetia (Russian; Республика Ингушетия ; Ingush: Гӏалгӏай Мохк), Kabardino-Balkaria (Russian: Кабардино-Балкарская Республика ; Kabardian: Къэбэрдей-Балъкъэр Республикэ ; Balkar: Къабарты-Малкъар Республика), Republic of Karelia (Республика Карелия), Komi (Russian: Республика Коми ; Komi: Коми Республик), Kalmykia (Russian: Республика Калмыкия ; Kalmyk: Хальмг Таңһч), Sakha (Russian: Республика Саха (Якутия) ; Sakha: Саха Өрөспүүбүлүкэтэ ; also Yakutia), Tatarstan (Russian: Республика Татарстан ; Tatar: Татарстан Республикасы), Tuva (Russian: Республика Тыва ; Tyvan Mongol: Тыва Республик ; also Tyva), Udmurtia (Russian: Удмуртская Республика ; Udmurt: Удмурт Элькун), Mari El (Russian: Республика Марий Эл ; Meadow Mari: Марий Эл Республик ; Hill Mari: Мары Эл Республик), Mordovia (Russian: Республика Мордовия ; Mordvin: Мордовия Республикась), North Ossetia-Alania (Russian: Республика Северная Осетия-Алания ; Ossetic: Республикӕ Цӕгат Ирыстон-Алани), Karachay-Cherkessia (Russian: Карачаево-Черкесская Республика ; Karachay-Balkar: Къарачай-Черкес Республика ; Kabardian: Къэрэшей-Шэрджэс Республикэ ; Nogai: Къарашай-Шеркес Республикасы), Khakassia (Russian: Республика Хакасия ; Khakas: Хакас Республиказы).

The 46 Oblasts of the Russian Federation are:
Amur (Амурская область), Arkhangelsk (Архангельская область), Astrakhan (Астрахань), Belgorod (Белгородская область), Bryansk (Брянск), Chelyabinsk (Челябинская область), Irkutsk (Иркутская область), Ivanovo (Ивановская область), Kaliningrad (Калининград), Kaluga (Калужская область), Kemerovo (Кемерово), Kirov (Кировская область), Kostroma (Костромская область), Kursk (Курская область), Kurgan (Курганская область), Leningrad (Ленинградская область), Lipetsk (Липецкая область), Magadan (Магаданская область), Moscow (Московская область), Murmansk (Мурманская область), Nizhny Novgorod (Нижегородская область), Novgorod (Новгородская область), Novosibirsk (Новосибирская область), Omsk (Омская область), Orenburg (Оренбургская область), Oryol (Орловская область), Penza (Пензенская область), Pskov (Псковская область), Rostov (Ростовская область), Ryazan (Рязанская область), Sakhalin (Сахалинская область), Samara (Самарская область), Saratov (Саратовская область), Smolensk (Смоленская область), Sverdlovsk (Свердловская область), Tambov (Тамбовская область), Tomsk (Томская область), Tula (Тульская область), Tver (Тверская область), Tyumen (Тюменская область), Ulyanovsk (Ульяновская область), Vladimir (Владимирская область), Volgograd (Волгоград), Vologda (Вологодская область), Voronezh (Воронежская область), Yaroslavl (Ярославская область).

The 8 Krai of the Russian Federation are:
Kamchatka (Камчатский край), Kharabarovsk (Хабаровский край), Krasnodar (Краснодарский край), Krasnoyarsk (Красноярский край), Perm (Пермский край), Primorsky (Приморский край), Stavropol (Ставропольский край),  Zabaykalsk (Забайкальский край).

The Four Autonomous Okrug of the Russian Federation are:
Chukotka (Чукотский автономный округ), Khantia-Mansia ( Ханты-Мансийский автономный округ; Khanti-Mansi also Yugra), Nenetsia (Ненецкий автономный округ), and Yamalia (Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ ; Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug).

There is but one Autonomous Oblast in the Russian Federation, which is the Jewish Autonomous Oblast (Еврейская автономная область) in the Far Eastern Federal District.